Elizabeth R. Curry Poetry Contest Guidelines

All entries considered for publication. Pay Pal Reading Fee $10

Contest Deadline:

Next year’s poetry contest will be taking entries from August 1st 2018 through December 1st 2018.

Submit up to three (3) unpublished poems with a $10.00 reading fee, which includes a two-year subscription. Submit poems through SLAB Submission Manager and complete $10 PayPal fee by clicking the “Buy Now” button below.



Our new judge will be poet Kathy Fagan, whose fifth book is Sycamore (Milkweed, 2017), a finalist for the 2018 Kingsley Tufts Poetry Prize. Her first book was a National Poetry Series winner and her second collection won the Vassar Miller Prize. Recent work appears in The New York Times, The Nation, The Bennington Review and Tin House. She has received fellowships from the NEA, the Ingram Merrill Foundation, and Ohio Arts Council. Fagan currently directs the MFA Program at Ohio State, where she also serves as Series Editor for the OSU Press/The Journal Wheeler Poetry Prize.

First Place:

First place: $600, and a limited edition, hand-bound chapbook of the winner’s poetry.


$400 and publication in SLAB.

Contest Rules:

All winners/finalists will be published in SLAB.
All poems considered for publication.
All manuscripts are submitted to the readers and judges anonymously.
*Current and former students of the judge are ineligible to enter.